Our Adoption Center is OPEN with no appointment needed!


 
 
Your Name (First and Last): 
Leah Westendorf
Phone number (please include area code): 
9196197534
Email address: 
Species of Pet: 
Dog
Pet's Sex: 
Female
Is your pet spayed/neutered?: 
Yes
Pet's Age: 
2
Breed: 
German Shepherd
Weight (in pounds): 
50-59
Does your animal have a microchip?: 
No
How did you get your pet?: 
Foster/ Temporary Home
How long have you had your pet? *: 
10 months
How long can you keep your pet before surrendering? *If less than one week, please call our Safety Net helpline at 828 761-2008: 
1 Month
Why do you need to rehome your pet?: 
Not Right Fit
Check all the following that describe your pet: 
Very active
Playful
Shy
Fearful
Always at your side
Nervous
Crate-Trained
Likes men
Likes women
House-trained
For dogs only - what is your dog's energy level?: 
High
For dogs only - what level of exercise does your dog usually get daily (exercise may include playing, walking, running, etc): 
1 to 2 hours
What is something you love about your pet? What else should someone know about your pet?: 
Keva is a wonderful girl. My family took her in at the beginning of the pandemic as her 1st home was not working out. Due to where Keva was born, she doesn't do well with children and her 1st home needed to find her a new environment quickly. Keva does not have a problem when on leash and passing children, she just does better in a home without small humans running around. Keva is shy and was initially fearful of us, but warmed up within the week and now she is one of the most loyal and lovely companions. She is about 2 years old, so she has some puppy spring in her still -- we get her exercise by playing fetch a lot and she LOVES it. Keva's favorite things include car rides, playing with other energetic dogs, HIKING, and chewing on toys at home. Our need to re-home her is due to our dog of 6 years who we have found does not do well with Keva (not Keva's fault). Additionally, Keva is fearful of strangers at first (she prefers to hang out in her crate when people come over) and we feel a home with less foot traffic and traveling would be better for her. Please reach out to me to learn more about Keva and to discuss if you may be the right fit -- We want her next home to be her forever place. Extra Thoughts: - Keva would do very well in a house with another dog that likes other dogs and is able to play - Keva would like a yard! She does great with recall since we've practiced and does great in our non-fenced yard - Keva needs a crate -- We call this her "house" and she goes there to have a safe space when she's overwhelmed - Keva has some "confinement" anxiety. This meaning that she does best when left to roam in the *dog proofed* house when people aren't home - Keva needs a home that can give her plenty of consistent exercise
Has your pet lived with: 
Dogs
How many hours is your pet home alone each day?: 
currently only about 3hrs max due to the pandemic quarantine
What does your pet dislike or fear?: 
- Fear of strangers coming into the house - Fear of negative/aggressive trainers
Where is your pet kept during the day?: 
Free in the house or in her crate
Where does your pet sleep at night?: 
Free in the room or alone in her crate
How does your pet ride in the car?: 
Keva loves car rides!
Please list any past or present injuries, treatment or other medical histories.: 
Keva was spayed under our care; Had a history of weight loss that was remedied with an increase in calories
I agree that I will respond to all requests for more information about my pet in a timely manner (Checking No will stop Post): 
Yes
I certify that I am the lawful owner of the pet identified here: 
Yes


Back to All Rehoming Animals