Adoption Center open Tues. - Sat., 10am - 6pm (naptime 1 - 2pm) with no appointment needed!


 
 
Your Name (First and Last): 
Claudia
Phone number (please include area code): 
828-713-0011
Email address: 
Species of Pet: 
Dog
Pet's Sex: 
Female
Is your pet spayed/neutered?: 
Yes
Pet's Age: 
6 months - 1 year
Breed: 
Mixed (Aussie/hound/feist)
Weight (in pounds): 
20-29
Does your animal have a microchip?: 
Yes
How did you get your pet?: 
Rescued
How long have you had your pet? *: 
One month
How long can you keep your pet before surrendering? *If less than one week, please call our Safety Net helpline at 828 761-2008: 
1 Month
Why do you need to rehome your pet?: 
Not Right Fit
Check all the following that describe your pet: 
Very active
Playful
Fence Jumper
Shy
Likes to be touched
Affectionate
Independent
Protective
Indoor
Likes men
Likes women
Separation anxiety
House-trained
For dogs only - what is your dog's energy level?: 
High
For dogs only - what level of exercise does your dog usually get daily (exercise may include playing, walking, running, etc): 
More than 2 hours
What is something you love about your pet? What else should someone know about your pet?: 
Sky is affectionate, playful, fun, and a great hiking companion. She rides perfectly in the car..she even wears a doggie crash harness! She sleeps all night in her cozy “bedroom” crate. Sky does not like being crated during the day. The combination of her high energy plus perhaps some separation anxiety makes crating for more than a few hours difficult. She would love a stay-at-home parent. Sky is not an off-leash dog. She does not respond to “come”, and she gets very focused on things like squirrels and scents. She would run away if she were let off-leash. Sky is athletic and a jumper. She would love a fenced-in yard, but she could easily jump the fence if she felt like it. A high security fence would be best. She does get on the furniture. Sky would love another dog to play with and to show her how to be a well-behaved dog. She is still in a chewing period, and she loves her toys! However, to her everything is a toy, so she needs to be supervised in the house. She loves going in long walks and hikes, and she would really love another dog to play with. I think she is a wonderful dog, but I cannot provide the training and patience that she needs to be an easier fit. She gets attached to her people, and otherwise it takes her a while to get used to other people in “her” house. She will bark and do some ankle nipping. I don’t know her history for her first 6 months. She’s around 8 months old now. I think she’d be a great family dog. She likes to play and learn, and I know she’ll calm down eventually. She’s very affectionate, but she’s not a lap dog. She has chosen her chair here, and that’s where she goes for her naps. She loves naps! We have exposed her to a lot of things and places, and she’s done great. Sky is spayed, fully vaccinated, and on heartworm prevention.
Has your pet lived with: 
Dogs
How many hours is your pet home alone each day?: 
Rarely but 4-9 when it does happen.
What does your pet dislike or fear?: 
Sky is a little skittish when people want to catch her. She is evasive. This is another reason she cannot be off-leash. Even in the house, she will sometimes try to avoid being caught. Other times it is no problem. She does not like strangers to approach her to quickly, and she has occasionally shown fear of larger people who intimidate her. She is very alert to everything, so she can be startled by loud noises or quick approaches.
Where is your pet kept during the day?: 
With me, or in a crate when necessary.
Where does your pet sleep at night?: 
In a crate in the bedroom
How does your pet ride in the car?: 
No car problems at all, and she wears her seatbelt.
Please list any past or present injuries, treatment or other medical histories.: 
None
I agree that I will respond to all requests for more information about my pet in a timely manner (Checking No will stop Post): 
Yes
I certify that I am the lawful owner of the pet identified here: 
Yes


Back to All Rehoming Animals